List of County Press Releases.
1333 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City
New Jersey
United States
+1 (609) 343-2313

Department of Administration

Office of Communications

News Archive

Tuesday, April 1, 2003

Atlantic County Advisory Commission on Women Elects New Officers for 2003

A new slate of officers for 2003 has been announced by the Atlantic County Advisory Commission on Women (ACACW). F. Naomi Taylor was elected to the position of Chair, Joanne Yard was voted in as Vice Chair, Adrienne Beinfest was elected as Secretary and Ann Smith Gray was chosen as Treasurer. The terms of leadership are for one year.

The election preceded the ACACW’s seventh annual Legislative Breakfast, held March 7, at the Mays Landing Country Club. In addition to commission members and regional business leaders, numerous county and state officials attended the function that featured keynote speaker, Ms. Rosalind Norrell-Nance. Ms. Nance spoke of issues concerning domestic violence in the family and the role that legislation plays in helping to solve these issues. Ms. Norrell-Nance formerly served as President of City Council for Atlantic City and is the current Director of the Atlanticare Behavioral Health Family Center in Atlantic City. Outgoing ACACW Chair Ms. Chinita A. Roundtree-Coleman was also recognized for her leadership and contributions. These events took place during March, recognized and celebrated as National Women’s History Month.

The ACACW, established in 1994, is a non-partisan organization comprised of volunteers who advocate on behalf of women and girls and encourages programs and policies that foster equality, achievement, justice, and a safe environment.

The ACACW has been instrumental in providing a platform for prominent women and, more recently, whose backing and nominations have supported three area leaders for local, statewide and national recognition.

Earlier this month, Ms. Hannah L. Dixon was presented with the Inaugural Wynona M. Lipman Women of Achievement Award for 2003 in recognition of Service to Women in the Local Community. Ms. Dixon is the past Director of Zonta International - East Coast Area Three, and played a leading role in the charter formation of the Atlantic County Women’s Hall of Fame. Recently retired after 35 years with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), she is National Membership Chairperson of the National Black Coalition of Federal Aviation Employees. Ms. Dixon served on the New Jersey Supreme

Court Ethics Committee, the Board of the Atlantic County Women’s Hall of Fame and was President of the Atlantic City Board of Education.

Ms. Gail Zona, who served as a commissioner for the ACACW from 1997 to 2002, was the 2002 recipient of the Outstanding Woman of Atlantic County award. During her five years with the ACACW, Ms. Zona initiated the “Service to Women and Girls Award” which annually honors outstanding volunteer programs and organizations based within the county that benefit and improve the lives of Atlantic County women and girls. For more than 34 years, Ms. Zona has been a member of the Atlantic County Branch of the American Association of University Women, an organization dedicated to equality and the educational advancement for women and girls. She has also served as a Girl Scout leader and trainer and was affiliated with the Miss America Pageant.

Dr. Vera King Farris, who recently concluded a distinguished 20-year term as President of Richard Stockton College of New Jersey, was the recipient of the Connie Woodruff Award and a 2003 nominee to the National Women’s Hall of Fame. Dr. Farris was recently honored for her lifetime accomplishments and leadership during her tenure at Richard Stockton College before hundreds of colleagues, national and state officials, friends, family and well wishers at a gala and scholarship dinner in Atlantic City.

For more information about the Atlantic County Advisory Commission on Women, please call 609-343-2337 or visit

County News

Back to Top back to top