Serves as the legislative branch of County Government.
201 S. Shore Road
New Jersey
United States
+1 (609) 645-5900
+1 (609) 645-5922

Board of Chosen Freeholders

Board of Chosen Freeholders

In 1974, Atlantic County voters changed the county governmental form under the Optional County Charter Law to the executive form. The charter provides for a popularly-elected executive and for a nine member freeholder board, responsible for legislation. The freeholders are elected to staggered three-year terms. Five of the freeholders represent equally populated districts; four are elected from the county-at-large.

Freeholder Meeting
March 24, 2020
View Packet
Next Freeholder Meeting
Scheduled for
April 7, 2020

Meeting Schedule

Atlantic County Legislative Public Records Resource Center

An accurate record and central repository of the official actions and vital records of the Atlantic County Board of Freeholders.

Resource Center

The Atlantic County Board of Freeholders honored Whitney Ullman as the Atlantic City Host Awards '2019 Spirit of Hospitality recipient at its May 7 meeting held in Hamilton Township.

Atlantic County 
Board of Freeholder Meetings

are now being live-streamed.
To join, check back by 3:45 PM day of meeting.
You can also view past meetings online.

The 2020 Board of Chosen Freeholders

2020 Atlantic County Board of Freeholders
Seated: Left to Right  – Freeholder John W. Risley, Jr.; Freeholder Amy L. Gatto; Chairman Frank D. Formica; Vice Chairwoman Maureen Kern; and Freeholder Richard R. Dase.
Standing: Left to Right  – Roger Steedle, Solicitor; Freeholder Ernest D. Coursey; Freeholder James A. Bertino; Freeholder Caren L. Fitzpatrick; Freeholder Ashley R. Bennett; and Sonya G. Harris, Clerk to the Board.

Back to Top back to top